No. You also have only one (1) year to file claims for certain Labor Code penalties, and one (1) to file a lawsuit for defamation. Statute of Limitations: Labor Code 1102.5 – general whistleblower protection: Three (3) years to file lawsuit in California Superior Court 25: Labor Code 98.6 – whistleblower protection for reporting labor law violations: Six (6) months to file complaint with California Labor Commissioner 26, or three (3) years to file lawsuit But you have two (2) years to file most claims for wrongful termination or retaliation, two (2) years to sue for breach of an oral contract, and two (2) years to file a claim accusing your employer of outrageous workplace conduct aimed at causing you emotional distress. An employee’s claim under Labor Code Section 2802 for reimbursement of business expenses begins to accrue on the date the employee incurs the particular expense. Proc., § 338, subd. e. Business Expenses. However, your employer can discipline you for failing to follow its policy on expense reimbursements. In other words, although the UCL claim is predicated on various Labor Code violations, such as failure to provide meal and rest breaks, failure to pay overtime wages, and failure to pay minimum wage, those predicate statutes do not supply the statute of limitations, Business and Professions Code section 17208 does. The new statute of limitations arises from AB 9, which increases the statute of limitations for filing a charge under the Fair Employment and Housing Act (“FEHA”) from 1 year to 3 years. The term "uniform" includes wearing apparel and accessories of distinctive design and color. Therefore, the three-year limitations period applies to Church s claims for expense reimbursement under Labor Code section 2802. 2. Pineda appealed. Division 3, Employment Relations; Chapter 2, Employer and Employee; Article 2, Obligations of Employer; Section 2802. The trial court threw his claims out, determining that they were barred by the statute of limitations and that the UCL didn’t apply to a claim for waiting time penalties. The California Court of Appeal agreed with the trial court. (c) Nothing in this section shall be construed to … Labor Code Section 2802, Industrial Welfare Commission Orders, Section 9. Refreshed: 2018-05-15 As long as you are within the three year statute of limitations for a Labor Code section 2802 claim, you are entitled to be reimbursed. DIVISION 2. Labor Code - LAB. (a).) Think of it like a time card. The three-year statute of limitations applies to claims for reimbursement of business expenses because it is a liability created by statute. ... of Section 3294 of the Civil Code. Wages. EMPLOYMENT REGULATION AND SUPERVISION [200 - 2699.5] ... 226, 226.7, 1193.6, 1194, or 2802, may be held liable as the employer for such violation. alties under Labor Code Section 203 and included a piggyback claim for violation of the UCL. Answer: The three-year limitations period applies because the employer’s liability under Labor Code section 2802 for business expenditures is “a liability created by statute.” (Code Civ. Labor Code § 300 (Wage Assignments Limited): Wage assignments are invalid unless they meet the requirements (e.g., written statement specifying transaction for which assignment occurs, spousal consent, notarization, maximum 50% of wages assigned and assignment is revocable at any time) of this section. Second, which statute of limitations applies to claims for business expenses brought under Labor Code section 2802?